{ IN MEDIA RES }

Mundanity

Posted in Original, Poetry, Writing by netscheri on July 16, 2007

plastic scrapes my hand raw but leaves only white
(‘like the back of my hand’/’I feel so honoured’)
plastic scrapes my hand raw but leaves only white
slipping from my grasp
I let go
and everything slides tumbling but my hand is raw and my fingers empty-grasp-empty
‘I feel so honoured

Cleaning up on the floor kneeling
piles on piles, everything is organised but nothing is clean
The back of my hand stings but nothing is purged
Tidying, my fingers full –

Comments: Yes, the ending is intentional. Hmm, it’s very, very rough right now and I don’t suppose the ideas are very clear. The moment I wanted to express in this was just when after struggle, when someone decides to let go, but that moment and the emotions behind it are so quickly lost or overwhelmed afterwards, and what is left is that half-feeling of something more, something forgotten to be remembered.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

