{ IN MEDIA RES }

Initials

Posted in Daily Life, Thoughts by netscheri on August 5, 2007

Henceforth, I shall refer to people only by their initials, with the single initial, such as ‘F.’ or ‘L.’, being the preferred form of address.

It shall be my way of embracing the bohemian, the cosmopolitan, and my particular mood at this moment. An air of supposed mystery, and intimacy, where names are no longer necessary and an individual’s complete identity can be wholly captured in one letter.

 Perhaps I have been inspired by the examples of V and K.M.? It stands that in this particular area, as with much else, detail is important, as well as a certain degree of meticulousness. The placing of a period or a full stop after the initial is important. In the example of V, it is omitted, as V is the only name by which V is known, rather than a shortening or a contraction of a full name. K.M., on the other hand, stands for Katherine Mansfield, and thus, the full stops are necessary.

But for now, that is all I have to add, so, fare well and good night.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shmee said, on August 8, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    plz don’t be influenced by K.M.

    that lady scares me.

  2. ephemery said, on August 13, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Do you know what is scary?

    After a concentrated bout of Katherine Mansfield, I find myself thinking in a way similar to the style she writes in. That’s scary.

  3. J said, on August 15, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    But how do you plan to plan to capture the world population (or even just ppl around you) in just 26 letters? It works for me but if I started characterising ppl with initials, I’d have at least 10J’s /ones that start with J.

  4. J said, on August 15, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    I think you should stop stressing over K.M. or Julius Caesar

  5. ephemery said, on August 15, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    I’m not stressing. I’m deeply considering and analysing.

    On the topic of initials, I (even) have a system worked out. It’s systematic. I’ll refer to them by their full name first with the initial in brackets and then afterwards, refer to them by that initial.

    And of course, if it was a list of names, for example, a list of names from A-J, then I would certainly use the full name.

    E.

    P.S. You can’t deny how versatile initials are. Depending on how they’re used, they can be (pseudo) street slang – ‘Yo, G!’, briskly business-like – ‘RVSP ASAP, from D.’, nonchalant – ‘And then M. said’, or idiosyncratic ‘K. for Katharine’.


Leave a Reply

