{ IN MEDIA RES }

A song (revised)

Posted in Band, Lyrics by netscheri on September 30, 2007

The second draft of this song here.

Perhaps ‘reworking’ would be more accurate. The major factor was after writing a first draft, I’m more sure of what exactly I want to convey and which images should go with it, rather than just choosing lines or words because they sound or look nice. I also took into mind some of the feedback that I received. The result is, hopefully, something that is more linked, continuous and clear.

Where Uncertainty Ends

A golden amber falls with the rain
But fortune falls imperceptibly
Watching the progress of 1000 nights
Against the flow of dusklight
Framed by a windowsill
I’ll let the world pass me by

Vows of resolution held tightly
Sped along by revolutions
Carrying 1000 cranes
Their weight is never constant
Reaching now for the gate
I’ll press forth with the multitude

One, light my way
Two, blow out the torch
Three, point me to the path

CHORUS: Unable to discern by the sky
If the sun is rising or setting
Lifting my eyes to the clouds
I look upon a sea of waves
Hands intertwined at my sides
Caught within the repetition, unsure of where the lightning fades
For let me know where uncertainty ends

Flotsam and jetsam of yesterday
Bring unexpected nostalgia
Surrounded by 1000 embers
Amidst cliffs with no incline
Waiting at a station
I’ll let the world pass me by

Every every small step
Is leading to someplace distant
Painting 1000 canvases
As if each one can be art
Travelling on a train
I’ll press forth with the multitude

One, blow out the torch
Two, light my way
Three, blind my direction

Repeat CHORUS

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shmee said, on October 13, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    haha, wow. you’ll definitely have to sing this in Japanese, or it’ll be a pretty long song.
    hmm pretty good. still abit long and complex for my taste. but, keep it up ^^

  2. ephemery said, on October 14, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    Something like this you mean? ….Actually, I think I’d need hours of practise to be able to sing at that speed without getting tongue-tied.

    Thanks for the feedback!


Leave a Reply

