{ IN MEDIA RES }

Futile Comfort 0.5

Posted in Band, Lyrics by netscheri on April 29, 2008

This is an earlier version of ‘Futile Comfort‘, hence the 0.5

On a sleepless night
I, faltering but watchful, saw every colour fade to grey
Now even the brightest of days carries an imprint of that awakening

How can I sing to you the poetry of loss?
Through a twist of a phrase, the sly slinking through of words, I try to convey
Even so, for you, only a piece of a broken icon, only a piece of distant dust
Asking why meaning in everything is necessary

Undoubtedly time must pass
Yet it touches you but infinitesimally
Time and grief intertwined in a frozen season 

How can I sing to you the poetry of loss?
Through a twist of a phrase, the sly slinking through of words, I try to convey
Even so, for you, only a piece of a broken icon, only a piece of distant dust
Asking why meaning in anything is necessary

All that I can offer is convoluted and flawed
To compare to the purity of absence

How, how can I sing to you the poetry of loss?
Through a twist of a phrase, the sly slinking through of words, I try to convey
Even so, for you, only a piece of a broken icon, only a piece of distant dust
Asking why meaning in everything is necessary

 

I’m told that the meaning of the two are quite different.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sapphy said, on May 5, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    “We’ll say goodbye, lost Heaven.
    How we longed for Heaven.
    We’re letting go of something we never had.
    Time goes so fast, Heaven!”

    This song of yours sounds different from anything you’ve written before.

  2. ephemery said, on May 6, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Does it?

    I think stylistically it’s quite similar to a lot of what I’ve written previously.

  3. Sapphy said, on May 8, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    maybe just how it makes me feel then. it just feels different


Leave a Reply

