{ IN MEDIA RES }

Futile Comfort

Posted in Band, Lyrics by netscheri on April 29, 2008

On a sleepless night
I, faltering but watchful, saw every colour bleed to grey
Now even the brightest of days carries an imprint of that awakening

How can I sing to you the poetry of loss?
Through a twist of a phrase, the sly slinking through of words, I try to convey
Even so, for you, only a broken image, only a fragment of distance
Asking why meaning in anything is necessary

Undoubtedly time must pass
Yet it touches you but infinitesimally, seemingly not at all
Time and grief intertwined in a frozen season 

How can I sing to you the poetry of loss?
Through a twist of a phrase, the sly slinking through of words, I try to convey
Even so, for you, only a broken image, only a fragment of distance
Asking why meaning in anything is necessary

To compare with the purity of absence
All that I can offer is fallible

How can I sing to you the poetry of loss?
Through a twist of a phrase, the sly slinking through of words, I try to convey
But only create imitations of images that seek completion
And echoes that turn back in upon myself

—-

Notes: With the exception of a few bits of prose, I’ve been taking all the ideas that come to me and turning them into songs instead of poems. But I plan to rework them into poems later. For me, I find that I can go into a lot more depth and exploration in a poem. Amongst other things, there’s more freedom to play around with the structure and format, as opposed to in songs.

I’ve been strangely lethargic and anti-activity for the past week or so, so I’m glad that I wrote something. Though not very glad, as the lethargy and anti-activity’s still there.

This song for me contains a lot of echoes, of other writers and poems and songs. Although it was unintentional, the first line of the chorus reminds me of the line “But how could we sing a song of the lord in a foreign land?” from psalm 137, and the first chorus reminds me of a poem, though I’m not sure which one. Maybe it was ‘Continuum’ by Alan Curnow. 

The title of this post and song is quite bland, but it does summarize it quite succintly. The singer/speaker/etc. is trying  to comfort the grieving person, but because of their internal conflict and human flaws, is only able to produce something flawed and weak, which while sincere, can’t compare with the certainty and starkness of loss.

An earlier version of the song can be found here.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sapphy said, on May 5, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I’m commenting.


Leave a Reply

